Artist Inspiration

I love my art class, its so easy when you are given an assignment but I would love to start drawing anything, anywhere.

Susan Philipsz, artist

• If you have a good idea, stick to it. Especially if realising the project is a long and demanding process, try to keep true to the spirit of the initial idea.

• Daydream. Give yourself plenty of time to do nothing. Train journeys are good.

• Be open to your surroundings. I try to find inspiration in the character of the place I’m exhibiting in. It helps me if I can respond to something that is already there.

• Always have something to write with. I seldom draw these days, but I need a pen in my hand to think.

• I like reading and watching movies, but mostly I find that it’s things I have seen or read a long time ago that come back to me. The things that you found inspiring when you were starting out usually stay with you.

• Keep it simple.

 It doesn’t always have to make sense.

Just start scribbling. The first draft is never your last draft. Nothing you write is by accident.

 Questions I can’t answer easily

Leave a Reply

